light

I wonder dark into the night
I follow the deep space inside
I ask the light where does it go-
It moves along inside my soul.

And closer my heart, to thee it rests
a quiet place to begin my quest.
the weight of truth stringed ’round my neck
while bouts of reason dance inside my head.
But the yearn, so grave, it keeps me up
this hunt for more, my empty cup.

And tasted all those things, I could
I’ve lost and loved and lived like I should.
I’ve studied and pondered and questioned the great
I’ve listened and waited in gentle ways.

This life I live, good at it’s best
but the light inside still burns my chest,
the ache that dwells begs for a quest,
my search for more,
outweighs the rest.

One comment

Leave a Reply

